CICA Julius Posener Exhibition Catalogue Award 2017

for the best architecture exhibition catalogue of the past three years

The CICA Julius Posener Exhibition Catalogue Award 2017 has been assigned to:

Hoidn, Barbara (ed.):

Demo:Polis − The Right to Public Space,

Akademie der Künste – Berlin, The University of Texas at Austin − School of Architecture, Park Books, Zürich 2016.

The International Jury:

Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK)

Manuel Cuadra (Germany)

Sengul Oymen Gur (Turkey)

Xiangning Li (China)

Louise Noelle (Mexico)


The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects.

The inaugural meeting of CICA was held in the Joan Miró Foundation in July 1979 when Prof. Bruno Zevi (Rome) was elected the first CICA President with Jorge Glusberg (Argentina), Julius Posener (Germany), Dennis Sharp (UK) and Pierre Vago (France) as Directors.

The current President is Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are François Chaslin (F), Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey), and Yasmin Shariff (UK).

CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Paris, New York, London, Gelsen­kirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Kuwait, Vancouver, Torino, Tokyo, and Durban.